Innocent, sincere and a very relevant prayer these days

prayer

After some serious political thoughts and speculations relative to the country’s affairs, allow me to share with you the lighter side of it.

In the same manner that a friend has shared this with me via email, I am doing the same with you because it seems that exasperation is felt by many Filipinos who, after many years of suffering brought about by unscrupulous and corrupt politicians, are now praying for divine intervention that could change the course of the country and our fate.

One may find this prayer kind of frivolous, a joke, at best, but what a relevant prayer it is that has been long in coming to arouse our sense of direction that, indeed, it is high time that we elect good and trustworthy leaders and to finally shun away from the bad and the untrustworthy, no matter their names, their star-status and their richness.

I heard a sweet elderly lady in church seated in the pew next to me and having a conversation with God. It was so innocent and sincere that I just have to share it with you:

“Dear Lord, This has been a tough 8 years for me.You have taken my favorite comedian Dolphy, my favorite actress Nida Blanca, my favorite director Lino Brocka, my favorite announcer and activist, June Keithly. And now my favorite American writer Tom Clancy
I just wanted you to know that my favorite politicians are Jinggoy and Joseph Estrada, Juan Ponce Enrile, Bong Revilla, the Binay family, the Arroyos and the Marcoses. Amen”

Let me know what you think

