A senior moment episode

senior momentsWhile we can still laugh at it, we might as well do it, realizing that sooner or later the joke will be on us. In fact I had been experiencing ‘mental glitches’ that I find sometimes incredibly amusing. But what I am sharing with you here is something more serious for this age-denying couple.

This story bearing the title ‘Forget – me – nots’ was submitted by Lisa Barnes to the Readers Digest’s ‘Laughter is the best medicine’ section, August 2014 issue.

At 86 and 84 years of age, John and Susan notice they’re beginning to forget little things, so they decide to visit the doctor. “Many people find it useful to write themselves little notes,” says the doctor. “Why don’t you try that?”
After dinner that night, Susan turns to John: “Be a dear, won’t you, and get me a dish of ice-cream from the kitchen …and maybe write that down so you won’t forget?”
“Piffle,” says John. “I can remember a dish of ice-cream.”
“Well,” says Susan. “I’d also like some strawberries and whipped cream on it.”
“My memory’s not all that bad,” says John. “Dish of ice-cream. Strawberries. Whipped cream. I don’t need to write it down.” And with that, he disappears into the kitchen.
After some time, during which Susan hears pots and pans banging around, John finally re-emerges with a plate of bacon and eggs, which he duly presents to his wife.
Susan looks at the plate and says, “Hey, where’s the toast I asked for?”

Let me know what you think

