Calling it quits

 

kneeBlogging to me has always been therapeutic for my peace of mind and a palliative for relieving frustrations when I am able to express openly about how I think and feel about a certain subject, person or story.

The contentment it gives me to have opined on something is what I value most as it seems to unshackle me from the absurdity that some people and events want to tie me up with and be constantly reminded about how senseless the affair of the nation has become and how insensitive our public officials/public servants have become, even to include the meddling from the officials of the Catholic religion.

Whether my thoughts and sentiments gratify or displease those following my blog or who stumbles upon it, one thing sure is that people will always have varied reactions. But, whatever the result, I always appreciate your follow and your comments as it is you that has kept me going all these years.

No, it is not the SC judgment declaring constitutional the online libel in the Cybercrime Prevention Act that has made me decide to call it quits, although the timing may be there. Frankly, am too old to be scared by that.

I am, however, psyching up myself now for a more serious therapy involving my physique when I will undergo a knee replacement surgery pretty soon.

Even as I write now, I feel discomfort and pain in my right knee, and more so upon standing up. Climbing and walking down stairs are agonizing routine. But I can’t just be in one position most of the time. I got to move and do something else. The ache almost always numbs my concentration.

I think somewhere in the pile of blogs that I wrote, I mentioned about my bum knee which had been operated on before due to a meniscus tear, a common injury to the cartilage that stabilizes and cushions the knee joint.

But, unlike today’s medical technology wonders where a non-invasive surgery could be performed and the injury repaired, I got mine opened up and the damaged part cut. Though it got healed in time, the impulsiveness of youth, however, took it for granted using and abusing it, even putting at risk my left knee – in work, in jogging, in playing tennis and even at brisk walking in latter years – and now it is taking its toll as age has caught up with me and the body no longer that nimble.

With my left leg, I stand 5’10”, but with my right leg standing I am 5’9”, and I leave it up to your imagination as to how I walk. The long years of disproportionate use of my legs, coupled with my lower back problem incurred in lifting heavy weights, has taken a considerable toll on my lower skeletal structure.

I hobble and before my left knee gets any worse and drops me crawling, I might as well get it fixed now, or forever I will bear that pain till the end. If there will still be quality of life awaiting, no matter how short its going to be, I’ll take it, rather than be left guessing as to how it could have been. Wish me luck.

I need no pity for I did it all thoughtlessly, recklessly and willingly. This quote from J.K. Rowling of the famed Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix sums it all up: Youth cannot know how age thinks and feels. But old men are guilty if they forget what it was to be young.

Thank you all for being a part of my blogs.

I wish each and every one of you the best.

I’ll see you when I see you – if ever.

6 comments on “Calling it quits

  1. I will miss your wisdom 😦 I look forward to your posts each morning when I wake up, bleary eyed still but with my iPad next to me, yours is the first that pops up in my mailbox. But your health comes first and my thoughts and prayers are with you. Keep up that quick mind and wit of yours and know that I’ll be waiting for your next post when it comes 🙂 **hugs**

  2. penpowersong says:

    Good luck, and I pray that you will be back soonest!

  3. I’m new in your blog, but I’ve come to admire your wisdom in so short period of time…I WISH YOU WELL..I hope sooner than soon, I will hear from you again by means of your post!!!

    • quierosaber says:

      Thank you for your kind thoughts, words and concern. Was hoping pain would just be physical, but reading the news these days are awfully painful to the psyche too. We haven’t even started yet litigating in serious the pork barrel scam, when we are hearing political jockeying already for 2016 presidential elections being started by no less than VP Binay himself which put doubts on the result of the scam investigation. Then you hear tandems being floated around like the Binay-Vilma Santos and Mar-Kris Aquino which to me are “lose-lose” (the sound is uncomplimentary in the Cebuano dialect) situation for the country. On top of that you also hear that Bong Revilla and Jinggoy Estrada are still strong contenders for the two highest positions in the land. What do they think of the Phl, just a shooting location where they could show their ridiculous acting abilities?

Let me know what you think

