Susan Boyle has Asperger’s

Re-packaged Susan Boyle.

Re-packaged Susan Boyle.

We all know or rather heard the angelic voice of Susan Boyle who was “Britain’s Got Talent” winner in 2009.

 In fact I am sharing with you a video, which at the outset show how skeptical people can really be at someone’s appearance.

But then again, Boyle’s looks and demeanor made it unconvincing and cynical for the judges and the public to believe that she could sing the song she chose for the night and much less to be the kind of singer she envisioned herself being compared with.

It was only when she started her rendition of ‘I Dreamed A Dream’ from the musical “Les Misérables” that everyone became dumbstruck and later got wowed by the beautiful voice of Boyle, forgetting already how she appeared in person and the quirks that went along with her personality.

The video shows it all – even the subtle apology expressed by the judges for their sarcasm. 

But that is all history now as the 52-year-old Scottish singer has since gone on to sell 14 million albums and become the first British female artist to have a number one album in the U.K. and the U.S. simultaneously. 

What is not history, however, is the fact that Boyle has been diagnosed only a year ago with Asperger syndrome.

Asperger’s syndrome, also called Asperger’s disorder, is a type of pervasive developmental disorder (PDD). PDDs are a group of conditions that involve delays in the development of many basic skills, most notably the ability to socialize with others, to communicate, and to use imagination.

This is, indeed, very comforting for Boyle, who in her lifetime has been told she suffered brain damage, and for this suffered bullying throughout her school years, being called “Susie Simple” by her classmates.

“It was the wrong diagnosis when I was a kid,” she said in an interview. “I was told I had brain damage. I always knew it was an unfair label. Now I have a clearer understanding of what’s wrong and I feel relieved and a bit more relaxed about myself.”

Recent tests have revealed that she has above-average intelligence.

“I was told my IQ was above average,” she said.

“I never know if people are genuine,” says Boyle. “I would say I have relationship difficulties, communicative difficulties, which lead to a lot of frustration. If people were a bit more patient, that would help.”

But after her professional success and recent diagnosis, Boyle says “That made me more determined to be where I want to be.” 

Atta, girl!

Let me know what you think

